52 Weeks

2009 was a rough year.  The loss of loved ones, combined with personal struggles, fears and medical concerns have put me into a “Creative Cocoon”.  I was dealing with so much stress that I could not focus on creativity, and as a result, the entries I posted here were mostly web links with little personal meaning.  I still had ideas that I would jot down in a notebook, but I never took the time to explore them and flesh them out.

Since this is the first full week of the New Year, I have a resolution for you, my dear blog.  I resolve to write at least on creative entry a week.  It might be an essay, a personal story, a picture, a poem or even song lyrics.  I may be the only one reading this, but as long as it gets me thinking and writing again, that is all that matters.  If there are others out here reading these words who wish to track my progress I will put them under the category of   “52 Weeks Project”.  If you like what you read please leave me a comment, Lord knows I could use the encouragement! 

I am also stealing a little segment I’ve seen on other blogs called “Thankful Thursdays”.  I will take a moment each Thursday to reflect on things I am thankful for that week.  These little reminders will not count toward the “52 Weeks Project”, but they do serve the great purpose of helping me see the joy in life.  (Oops!  It’s Thursday today…I guess I’ll be back with my first entry!) 

With any luck, I will keep this resolution past January and throughout out the year.  After all, writing one decent blog post a week has to be a lot easier than losing weight!

4 comments on “52 Weeks

  1. DO it. I will be listening. The world is out there trying to distract everyone from creating things, It is hard to break free. I have vowed something similar.

    O.

    • Actually it was your blog post that helped inspire me! I had been meaning to develop some of these ideas I had jotted down, but I was lacking the motivation. Your post gave me the kick in the pants I needed to say “Hey! Get these ideas out into the world…even if it’s only for yourself!”

      So Thank You, and I will be watching YOUR blog and photostream to see what you are coming up with!

  2. Here’s hoping 2010 is bright, sunny, happy, cheerful, and full of every good thing that was lacking in 2009.

    I look forward to your weekly entries. I tend to not do New Year’s resolutions (I try to work on my own bad self throughout the year… why limit it to just January?), but this year, I’ve decided that I will have a resolution, which is that I want to get involved in at least one stage production somewhere in the area. Remember back in the late ’90s when I used to be onstage for, like, eight productions a year and do behind-the-scenes work for another six or seven? Doing SOMETHING for ONE show shouldn’t be too hard, right? 🙂

  3. Ah yes the late 90’s…I believe I was acting in several productions a year back then too! (Nowhere NEAR as busy as you though!) 🙂

    I say go for it! If you need any audition songs, monologues, or any help I can provide at all please don’t hesitate to ask!

    Let me know if you get in a show…I love to come up and see you in it!

Leave a Reply

