My Newest Show Idea

***Original post date March 22,2007*** 

Like many American artists my age, I was shocked/surprised/amazed/horrified at how a tiny little Disney channel movie called High School Musical went on to become the giant marketing juggernaut that it is today. The cd and dvd sales are still through the roof a year after its release.

Music Theatre International started selling the theatrical rights to community theatres BEFORE a stage adaptation was even written! Most theatres with a youth program in this area already have it on their schedules.

The Disney Channel is working on two sequels, High School Musical 2 and a Halloween special dubbed Haunted High School Musical. If that wasn’t enough they have also announced the tour of High School Musical: On Ice! (Which will play the Civic Center arena next March).

I, like many American artists my age, saw this snowballing success and asked myself the burning question, “How do I cash in on this?” Therefore I have come up with my newest show idea…

Haiku Musical

This time the action centers around the big poetry competition, with the jocks, the nerds, the Emo kids and drama club kids all struggling to win the big prize. Along the way they make new friends and learn valuable life lessons. (Or some Disney crap like that!) This years theme for the contest is Haiku, the Japanese poetry consisting of three lines. The first line is five syllables, the second is seven syllables, and the third is five syllables again.

The big challenge for me will be the songs, since they will all be in Haiku form. This makes them VERY SHORT with an odd meter. (Maybe I should talk to Jason Robert Brown about this. He’s good with songs that have odd rhythms!) The show is still in rough form but here is a sampling of some of the songs one can expect to hear…

The touching EMO KID’S SONG

Why won’t you love me?

Class won’t be the only thing

I will cut today!

The lead will of course have a stereotypical jock best friend …

JOCK’S SONG

Wedgie’s for the nerds

I’ll act tough so they won’t guess

What I lack downstairs.

One of his victims will plan his future revenge…

NERD’S SONG

You may win today.

I’ll bet no one shoves Bill Gates

In a locker NOW!!

The Nerd has a Sci-Fi quoting buddy who sees the attack but knows he is powerless to stop it…

SCI-FI GEEK’S SONG

This is not my fight.

Even Jedi know when to

“Let the Wookie win!”

Somewhere down the hall The Drama Club kid is loving every minute of this…

DRAMA CLUB KID SONG

All across the school

Everyone breaks into song.

It’s my dream come true!

Of course every story has to have a “bad guy”. Someone to stand in the way of the leads just getting what they want in the first 15 minutes. This time it’s the President of the Poetry Club. She’s been writing poems all of her life, and she’ll be damned if she lets ANYONE steal her glory…

POETRY CLUB PRESIDENT’S SONG

Do not waste your time

When it comes to these Haikus

I’m the best there is!

Somewhere we also need to have the big group number. This is where we learn that even though the groups are quite diverse, they all have the same feelings…

HAIKU SONG

How to write my life

in three lines and syllables

of five, seven, five?

All I need now is a large advance from the Disney Channel and I’m sure I can get all of these rough edges ironed out!

2 comments on “My Newest Show Idea

  1. Pingback: Eclectica » Blog Archive » Shrinky-Dink Musical

Leave a Reply

